Just a little scripting

Scripting on Windows

There’s this flame war between Linux and Windows. Like Linux is user-friendly, it’s just more selective with its friends. Another one is, that it’s easy if you don’t mind clicking. Windows 10 contains a bash shell, still, this won’t end just now.

So, there is this flame war, old and still funny. But this post is about something else. I’m trying to explain why I always install a cygwin / mingw on a corporate windows box.

Obviously, I install them because we’re not using Windows 10 yet. Also, I’m installing mingw because git-bash is based on that. Still, this isn’t the real reason.

Why is it useful?

The real reason is that I can solve complex problems quickly. Say for instance, the jd-gui had some problems. It couldn’t decompile some classes and it wouldn’t save all the decompiled sources either. I could’ve downloaded some other versions and played with them. However, I already had mingw and procyon on my machine so I started to write a for loop. In a couple of minutes I had this:

cp -r classes sources # this creates a paralel directory structure
find sources -name '*.class' | xargs rm # this removes the class files

# a for loop through the classes. I could've excluded the inner classes too..
for f in `find classes -name '*.class'`; do
  # creating the name of the destination java file
  j=`echo $f | sed -e 's/^classes/sources/g' -e 's/.class$/.java/g'`; 

  # invoking the decompiler
  java -jar /f/Programs/decompilers/procyon-decompiler-0.5.30.jar $f > $j;
done

The point here isn’t the code. Bash can do loops, branches, and other stuff in a weird way. The point is that I could substitute some gui functionality with some code in a couple of minutes. It took as much as starting up eclipse and creating a new project.

It’s not only useful. Writing code seeing it run instantly – it’s almost magical. Others might prefer the REPL for Lisp, python, powershell or ruby. Still, bash is the most ubiquitous from all above.

Enhancements

So, I wrote this one-time script. There are a few enhancements I could’ve made.

I.e. this is how you can filter out the inner classes from the decompiler loop:

for f in `find classes -name '*.class' | grep -v '\$'`; do
  #...
done

But deleting them isn’t much harder either:

find . -name '*.java' | grep '\$' | xargs rm

I can also mass-edit the decompiled classes:

# a loop for the java sources
for j in `find src/ -name '*.java'`; do
  # retrieving the java class name from the path
  f=`echo $j | sed -e 's/^.*\///g' -e 's/.java$//g'`;

  # creating the command - it will be useful for debugging
  cmd=`echo "sed -i 's/\b$f\.//g' $j"`;
  echo $cmd; # some feedback during the script run
  eval $cmd; # invoking the actual command
done

Other approaches

As you can see, I’m using sed and command substitution extensively. There might be other approaches that I’m unfamiliar with. Still, these tools help me a lot to solve complex problems quickly.

What now? We can follow @climagic. We can learn how to parametrize procyon to do what we want. I could learn awk.

What are your favorite command-line tools? How could you improve these scripts?

 

About tamasrev

A software developer, specialized in Java, addressing himself as generalist. A proud daddy.
This entry was posted in programming and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

